La Masa of Sweden

This album is a testament to La Masa of Sweden`s band mate Fredrik Eriksson – also a former member of super-hyped punk-pop band Love is all – as well as the rebirth of La Masa of Sweden. The band’s sound maker and bassist/synth bass player died tragically a year ago after suffering from a severe depression. This hit us with tremendous pain, but also anger because of the fact that Fredrik did not get the help he needed. Fredrik had time to produce and play on all the songs except one before he left us.


In order to complete the work on the album, La Masa of Sweden took the help of Bastian Pabst for recording vocals, and Johan Forsman Löwenström (Jens Lekman, Caesars, Silverbullit, Håkan Hellström, The Soundtrack of Our Lives, Thåström etc.) for mixing.

The result is outstanding, with brilliant pop songs that at times sound like the perfect mix between The Jesus & Mary Chain and Wham, a nice mix of shoegaze guitars and electronica. La Masa of Sweden could be the Swedish cousin of the DFA Records family. The album consists of ten great pop songs: “Jimmie Give Up” – a political stance against Jimmie Åkesson, Swedish right wing politician; “Tom of Finland” is a tribute to the gay icon, artist and provocateur with the same name; “Monarchy” is more current than ever with the recent fuss and debate on the Swedish royal family; “Scrapbook”, “When Satan lover her” and “Protest March” show different perspectives of human shortcomings In a grim existence.


La Masa of Sweden have previously released two albums with lyrics in Swedish under the name La Masa, and has had several radio singles that rotated frequently on both Swedish and Finnish Radio (“Günter Wallraff på hal is”, “Tomhetens Dunkla Spår”, “Flyttkartong” just to name a few).


But now it’s time for change, both soundwise and linguistically. La Masa of Sweden sets out on new adventures in the great pop-cultural world!


The band currently consists of Mats Forsberg – vocals and percussion (ex. Kracklites), Thomas Blixt – guitar and electric bass (ex. Smash Hit Wonders) and Jakob Linde (ex. Kracklites) synthesizer, organ, synth bass and vocals.

Leave a comment